Friday, August 15, 2014

Did You Know? The AFM... [Part Troix]

Has raced at Sonoma Raceway (née Infineon, née Sears Point, née Golden State Raceway) since 1973.

Held its first motorcycle-only Laguna Seca race in 1974. Noise complaints prohibited any more races for several years.

Had 85 teams signed up for the 250-mile (4-hour) endurance race at Sears Point in November 1978. It was rained out and took place on Thanksgiving Sunday.

Created Formula Pacific (FP) as the premier class in 1992. It originally did not count toward the overall championship. In later years all top 10 numbers came from FP, and a more recent change set the top 5 numbers from FP and 6-10 from other classes.

Started racing at Thunderhill Park in 1995.

Started racing at Buttonwillow Raceway Park in 1997.

Ran the California State Championship Series with Willow Springs in 1997 and 1998. Races from each club counted toward overall class championships.

Introduced electronic timing and scoring in 1999.

Introduced online registration in 2001.

Held its first race in over 40 years in Las Vegas in 2003. It was popular with those who went, but not a financial success.

Added AirFence soft barriers at Sears Point starting in 2005.

Has had at least 5 overall Champions who repeated for a second straight year, but has never had a Champion for 3 years in a row.

No comments:

Post a Comment